Get voting for your favourite parks


Do you have a favourite park? Somewhere you return to time after time to play, take part in activities or to simply relax in?

We’re being asked to vote for our favourite local parks as part of this year’s People’s Choice Awards.

A record breaking 1,973 Green Flag Awards were handed out to parks and green spaces this year, including four in Erewash.


Pioneer Meadows, Kirk Hallam

Pioneer Meadows is a popular local nature reserve and regular visitors include children from Dallimore Junior School who use the site for Forest School activities.

West Park, Long Eaton

West Park is the largest park in Erewash, at 127 acres, and offers an extensive range of sports and recreational facilities – including an outdoor gym trail, a skatepark, a splashpad water park, bowls, tennis and football and cricket.

Victoria Park, Ilkeston

Victoria Park dates back to 1896 and also boasts a Green Heritage Award – which is granted to a Green Flag site that is deemed to be of local or national historic interest or contains features of historic interest. 

Straw’s Bridge Local Nature Reserve, West Hallam

Straw’s Bridge Local Nature Reserve features three ponds that are surrounded by woodland, scrub, meadow and wetland. It is also connected to the Nutbrook Trail.

It attracts many types of birds but is particularly famous for its swans, leading to its affectionate nickname ‘Swan Lake’.


Cllr Mike Wallis, Erewash Borough Council’s lead member for culture and leisure, gave little away when it came to his own personal favourite park.

He told us: “We are very lucky to have four Green Flag parks and local nature reserves in the borough so this is the perfect opportunity to further our successes.

“Each park is unique in what it can offer visitors so it’ll be a tough choice to pick a favourite so please encourage friends and family to take part in the voting too!”

To vote for your favourite park, simply visit, then locate your choice on the map and click the ‘vote’ button.

Voting ends on Monday 30th September. The top ten winners will be announced on Tuesday 15th October.


Leave a reply